Wakefield Harriers
Home Page Search Wakefield Harriers Website About Us Club Contacts Membership Details Club Records 1999 Reports & Results 2000 Reports & Results Email Us

Northern Womens League
Division 4EC

Report by:Bryan Murray

7th May 2000 - Princess Mary Stadium, Cleckheaton

Athletes who missed out on selection for the recent UK Women's League Division 1 match were put through their pace, at the highly competitive Northern Women's League meeting at the Princess Mary athletics track, Cleckheaton.

Wakefield's sprinters produced a cleansweep of the senior age group in both sprints. Louise Brear won the 100m A in 13.0 secs. Elaine Sutcliffe won the B event in the fastest time of 12.9 secs. Sutcliffe went on to win the 200m comfortably it 26.1 secs, while her sister Janet Robinson matched this with victory in the B event. Robinson, over the A 400m was never in danger of losing and won in 62.5 secs, Sutcliffe took the B in a convincing 63.9 secs.

Laura Sheard won the A 1500m in 5:26.4 with Sam Colley completing the double by taking the B race it 5:32.3

Another new athlete. Alex Tomkinson, made her debut in the 3,000m - and she dominated the event to win by a considerable margin. Linda Walker won the B race in 11:54.0

Only one Wakefield athlete entered the 100m hurdles, Tara Wilson, who was making her return to action after picking up an injury during recent warm-weather training. Wilson came through - without injury - to win the event. Wilson and Kirsty Hodson underlined the strength of the Wakefield squad with follow up victories in the 400m hurdles A and B races respectively.

Sharon Pryke threw 27.89m to place first in the discus A. Amy Ridsdale put in another good throw 23.32m, for first in the Levent.

Lindsay Jones. back from injury, threw 41.44m take the hammer, with Sarah Drake taking the B event with 32.77m.

Wakefield's high jumpers were up against Rachael Young of Grimsby Harrier, whose 1.67m leap was enough to force Wakefield's June Hall into second with 1.47m. Alex Carr placed equal first in the B high jump with 1.40m.

Michelle Lonsdale returned to action after a lengthy lay-off with an arm injury and made it a winning return with victory in the A javelin, throwing 38.23m. Sharon Pryke took the B event with 23.47m.

Katie Richardson was clear A-event winner with 4.99m into a head wind, and Kirsty Hodson just held on for the B victory with 4.24m

The versatile Tara Wilson then entered the pole vault for the very first time - and won it.

The final event was the shot putt - and Wakefield won both the A and B competitions. Pryke took the A with 10.58m and Ridsdale the B.

Brear, Robinson, Sutcliffe and Richardson enjoyed a comfortable 50.2 secs victory in the 4x100m relay, while Sutcliffe, Fender, Singleton and Sheard took first in the 4x400m relay in 4:14.7.

Senior successes in meeting at Cleckheaton spurred the U17s on to a catalogue of top-notch performances and A and B string doubles.

Vicky Lockwood and Linda Jowett sewed up both the 100m A and B sprints with respective times of 13.7 secs and 14.2 secs.

There were outstanding performances by team-mates Vicky Lambert and Ruth Laybourn. Lambert won the A 200m in 27.1 secs, then came second in the 300m in 43.8 secs, and first in the long jump with 5.25m.

Laybourn's contribution was a huge bonus. She was first in the 80m hurdles in 13.4 secs, first in the 300m hurdles in 52.8 secs and recorded 4.99m in the B long jump.

There was a double in the 800m with Aine Hoban taking the A event in 2:32.5 and Lucy Martin winning the B race in 2:41.3.

The U15 sprinters were in top form with Laura Robinson spearheading the assault with victories in both the 100m and 200m in 13.2 secs and 26.7 secs. Olivia Smith supported well to win the B events in 13.2 secs and 28.9 secs.

Middle distance runners had hot conditions to contend with, but Jasmine Kerry did well to secure third place in the A 800m in 2:50.3. Lisa Hall won the B 800m competition in 2:37.4.

Over the longer distance, Zoe Gowland was second in the 1500m in 5:21.0 and club-mate Hall took the B event in 2:37.4.

Wakefield's sprint hurdles duo Amy Fozzard and Naida Bromley produced first places yet again with Fozzard taking the A race in 12.8 secs and Bromley the B in 13.0 secs. Fozzard had two further wins in the discus and shot putt while Bromley went on to take the A long jump with 4.91m. Lynsey Green jumped 4.29m in the B event.

Wakefield's 4x 100m U 15 quartet of Robinson, Smith, Green and Bromley won by a good distance in 54.4 secs.

Wakefield won every relay event in the programme with the U17s following up the two senior successes and the U15s' victory with Lockwood, Lambert, Jowett and Laybourn wrapping up their race in 53.9secs.